Pulling your children out of school for family vacations is not something you want to do on a regular basis—certainly not more than once a year.
However, if you don’t want your child to miss school, or his/her school advises you against it, don’t let it stop you from taking advantage of the great deals available.
Can you take your kid out of school for vacation?
In several states, parents can be fined for taking their kids out of school for more than a few days at a time. While no school encourages unexcused absences, some have strict attendance policies regarding missing school for a vacation, even going so far as to deem it “illegal.”
Is it illegal to take your child out of school for vacation in California?
In California, parents have a responsibility to compel their child(ren) to attend school. In some cases, parents of a truant child may face criminal charges. A parent may be fined up to $500 if he or she fails to compel their child to attend school.
How many days can your child miss school?
Florida law requires schools to follow certain procedures when students miss school without a valid excuse: After each unexcused absence, the principal will contact the parent. After five unexcused absences in a month (or 10 within a 90-day period), the principal will refer the case to the school’s child study team.
What happens if you skip school?
If your school does not call when you’re absent, you won’t have to worry about your parents hearing from the school. Skipping school frequently is called “truancy” and can get you suspended from school. Skipping school can lead to truancy, which will remain on your permanent record.