How do I start to homeschool my child?
- Review the homeschool laws for your state (or country).
- Understand parent qualifications for your area.
- Figure out your child’s learning style.
- Choose a homeschool learning method.
- Select curriculum or courses.
- Deschool your child (and yourself!).
According to homeschooling authorities, homeschoolers in California have five basic options for teaching their children at home:
- File an affidavit to function as a private school.
- Enroll in a private school satellite homeschool program.
- Hire a certified private tutor (or become a credentialed tutor yourself).
The only requirements to legally home school in Texas are:
- The instruction must be bona fide (i.e., not a sham).
- The curriculum must be in visual form (e.g., books, workbooks, video monitor).
- The curriculum must include the basic subjects of reading, spelling, grammar, mathematics, and good citizenship.
How To Start Homeschooling
- Evaluate and Pray.
- Join a local support group.
- File your Letter of Intent to Homeschool: If your child is age 6 to 16 on February 1st, you must file a one-time Letter of Intent to Homeschool with your county school board within 30 days of beginning your home education program.
- Choose your curriculum.
To qualify for option 2 you must have at least a high school diploma to homeschool your child. Finally you will need to attach an outline for you plan of instruction to your notice of intent. If you choose option 2, you will also need to submit an assessment of your child to your child’s superintendent by June 30.If you are homeschooling in the state of North Carolina, you will need to know the following:
- Submit a Notice of Intent to Homeschool.
- Take standardized testing each year.
- Parents/guardians must hold at least a high school diploma or its equivalent.
Follow these steps to homeschool under this option:
- Submit annual notification to the school district in order for your child to be excused from compulsory attendance.
- 2. Make sure you have the required qualifications.
- Teach the required subjects.
- Teach the required number of hours.
- Assess your student annually.
If you are homeschooling in the state of Alabama under Option 2, you will need to follow the steps below:
- Register with your local district as your own private school.
- Submit forms.
- Take attendance.
- Make copies of immunization records.
- Record of Physical Education for each student enrolled in a private school.
In order to do this you will need to do the following:
- File a Parent/Guardian Form.
- File a Parent Representative Form.
- File an Information Summary.
- Submit your child’s birth certificate to the Nebraska Department of Education the first year you begin homeschooling.
- Your instruction must be at least 1,032 hours.
To homeschool as a non-accredited private school, you’ll need to follow these legal requirements:
- Register your private school.
- Select competent instructors.
- Teach for the required period.
- There are no required subjects (but here’s what most schools teach).
- Plan and schedule your instruction.
To qualify to homeschool you must fulfill one of the following:
- Have earned 45 quarter units of college level credit.
- Attend a Parent Qualifying Course.
- Work with a certificated teacher who meets with your student on the average of an hour a week.
How do I start homeschooling my child?
“So, Where Do I Start?”
- Locate your state homeschool group.
- Locate your local support group.
- Join other homeschoolers online.
- Subscribe to a homeschool magazine.
- Read “how to” books about homeschooling.
- Locate curriculum providers.
- Go to your local teacher’s store.
- Attend your first curriculum fair.
Can you start homeschooling at any time?
Homeschooling is legal in all 50 states, and you can begin homeschooling at any time, even in the middle of the school year. The semester break is a perfect time to make the change; however, you can withdraw your children from school at any time.
Is it easy to homeschool your child?
The three basic categories for homeschooling laws are: home education laws, private school laws, and equivalency laws. Don’t sacrifice your family’s happiness to “school” your children. There are many ways families homeschool; find what works for you and your family. Your child will not become a social misfit.
How much does it cost to homeschool my child?
The Home School Legal Defense Association (HSLDA) estimates that the average parent spends about $300 to $600 per year, per child, on homeschooling curriculum, games, and books.