projects.propublica.org Parent Qualifications A few states require homeschool parents to meet basic educational qualifications such as having a high school diploma or GED, but the vast majority of states have no educational qualifications for homeschool parents.
Current Homeschool Law – Coalition for Responsible Home
https://www.responsiblehomeschooling.org › policy-issues › current-policy
How many hours a day do you have to home school?
While most states require 180 school days a year, don’t compare a “typical” homeschool/independent study day to a “typical” traditional school day. In a traditional school setting, a child is in attendance for 6-7 hours a day, but not every minute of that is time spent actually teaching.
Can you be homeschooled without a parent?
So, yes, a parent can legally and literally allow their child to homeschool themselves. But the parents will still be legally responsible. So while the parents may allow a child to homeschool themselves, might even let the child send in paperwork, they can’t turn the legal responsibility over to the child.
Do I have to register my child for homeschooling?
New York Homeschool State Laws. Parents are not required to register their child in a New York public school if they plan to provide homeschooling. You are required to keep attendance records for each child in your school that clearly show you are meeting the “substantial equivalent” of 180 days a year.
Is it free to be homeschooled?
Generally, you can assume that homeschooling costs more than a public school education and less than a private school. If you had to, you could homeschool practically for free using public resources like libraries, PBS shows, museums, the internet, and hand-me-down educational supplies.